GINGER, My Soon to be Published Memoir

July 30, 2012

In my memoirs I talk about the largest garden party to ever be held in the White House South Lawn. It was a fantastic feeling to be part of history not just for the White House but mostly the involvement of a brigade of chefs catering this monumental event. We had chef’s from the local embassies in Washington DC, the chefs from the Blair House, the Navy chefs, self included, from the West Wing all under the direction of the resident chefs headed by Pierre Chambrin. It was a very busy event with plenty to do prior, during and after the event.

In reflection of that day the most important thing that stands out to mind is the preparation that must be done before any action in the kitchen. Like anything in life, it is always essential to be prepared. Not being prepared can hinder anyones ability to execute flawlessly and usually is an invitation for ‘Murphy’ to enter the room and take charge.

Life is a lot like getting prepared for a busy dinner service. You arm yourself with knowledge, sharpen your tools, organize and store your mise en place, make sure the equipment is working and strive for a perfect service. No waste, no hassles and gratified by what your doing with the compliments coming back from the dining room.

In preparation for my work on Modern Scottish Cuisine, I reflect on my past experiences to ensure I am prepared. I draw up my paper concepts. I taste a variety of Scottish ingredients and decide what goes best together. I look at what pleased me as a child to eat. I create my prep list then get to work. By setting the goal of lifting Scottish food to the next level, my prep list is to reflect that goal. I depend on my skills and education as well as my past experience working with Scottish ingredients to help me along the way.

Being prepared is the most time consuming part of my work but it holds true to everything I do. I focus on being prepared and while the clock likes to turn faster on important days it is my preparation that likes the challenge and my soul that likes the outcome.Image

Leave a comment